Welcome, Lovelies!

IMG_0315Well, it all started when a good friend of mine invited me to a Feminist United meeting on our college campus. Until that point,  I never had the opportunity to attend one of these meetings, mostly because of work and other organizational meetings that just so happened to take place at the same time. However, fall semester of my senior year proved to be (surprisingly) abundant with free time. After the 2-hour meeting, I left with a completely revised view of life. From then on, I began to view society and everyday life through a critical new lens I had not before. So, why exactly am I telling you all of this? Well, that brings me to why I’ve created this blog.

On my journey to understanding and embracing feminism, it didn’t take long to notice that the many feminist spaces I came across didn’t have many voices from people of color. Because of this, I wanted to create a blog that serves as a starting point to bringing forth issues that people of color often face within the confines of a patriarchal system.

In the creation of this blog, I feel it is important and necessary to state that this blog is a safe haven for all marginalized groups* who seek community, understanding and knowledge.

*The article linked uses the term “minority groups.” I personally prefer to use marginalized because “minority groups” sounds offensive and gives the impression that people belonging to these groups are “less than.” Though not completely inclusive, the article does seem to offer the best explanation and breakdown  of which groups fall into this category. 

Leave a Reply

